Livestock grazing in a crop-livestock production system in Lambwe valley, Kenya (Photo: Awudu Abdulai)

Swiss Research Projects

Swiss Programme for Research on Global Issues for Development (r4d):
projects related to agricultural research for development

FOOD SECURITY (5)

Building soil fertility
Full Title: Farmer-driven organic resource management to build soil fertility
Duration: 01.01.2015 – 31.12.2020
Countries: Ghana, Mali, Kenya, Zambia
Contact: Dr. Andreas Fliessbach, FiBL (andreas.fliessbach[at]fibl.org), www.orm4soil.net 

Sustainable yam cropping
Full Title: Biophysical and socio-economic drivers of sustainable soil use in yam cropping systems for improved food security in West Africa (YAMSYS)
Duration: 01.01.2015 – 31.12.2020
Countries: Côte d’Ivoire, Burkina Faso
Contact: Prof. Dr. Emmanuel Frossard, ETH Zurich (emmanuel.frossard[at]usys.ethz.ch )

Insects as feed
Full Title: Sustainable use of insects to improve livestock production and food security in smallholder farms in West Africa (Insects as feed in West Africa) 
Duration: 1.1.2015 – 31.12.2020
Countries: Benin, Ghana, Burkina Faso
Contact: Dr. Marc Kenis, CABI (m.kenis[at]cabi.org)

Gender and the right to food
Full Title: Land Commercialization, Gendered Agrarian Transformation, and the Right to Food DEMETER (Droits et Egalité pour une Meilleure Economie de la Terre)
Duration: 01.02.2015 – 31.01.2021
Countries: Cambodia, Ghana
Contact: Prof. Dr. Elisabeth Prügl, Graduate Institute (elisabeth.pruegl[at]graduateinstitute.ch)

Food sustainability
Full Title: Towards food sustainability: Reshaping the coexistence of different food systems in South America and Africa
Duration: 01.01.2015 – 31.12.2020
Countries: Kenya, Bolivia
Contact: Prof. Dr. Stephan Rist, CDE (stephan.rist[at]cde.unibe.ch)

ECOSYSTEMS (3)

Oil Palm Adaptive Landscapes
Full Title: Oil Palm Adaptive Landscapes
Duration: 01.03.2015 – 28.02.2021
Countries: Cameroon, Colombia, Indonesia
Contact: Prof. Jaboury Ghazoul, ETH Zurich (jaboury.ghazoul[at]env.ethz.ch)

Telecoupled landscapes
Full Title: Managing telecoupled landscapes for the sustainable provision of ecosystem services and poverty alleviation
Duration: 01.01.2015 – 31.01.2020
Countries: Lao PDR, Myanmar, Madagascar
Contact: Dr. Peter Messerli, CDE (peter.messerli[at]cde.unibe.ch)

Invasive species
Full Title: Woody invasive alien species in East Africa: assessing and mitigating their negative impact on ecosystem services and rural livelihood
Duration: 01.01.2015 – 31.12.2020
Countries: Ethiopia, Kenya, South Africa, Tanzania
Contact: Urs Schaffner, CABI (u.schaffner[at]cabi.org)

EMPLOYMENT (1)

Feminisation, agricultural transition and rural employment
Full Title: Feminisation, agricultural transition and rural employment (FATE) 
Duration: 01.07.2014 – 30.06.2019
Countries: Bolivia, Rwanda, Lao PDR, Nepal
Contact: Dr. Sabin Bieri, CDE (sabin.bieri[at]cde.unibe.ch)

THEMATICALLY OPEN RESEARCH (8)

AGRIFEU
Full Title: Experimental assessment of innovative slash and burn cultivation practices for sustainable land-use and deforestation prevention in Central Menabe (Madagascar)
Duration: 01.11.2013 – 31.10.2016
Countries: Madagascar
Contact: Prof. Dr. Alexandre Buttler, EPFL (alexandre.buttler[at]epfl.ch)

AlaReLa
Full Title: Alaotra Resilience Landscape
Duration: 01.11.2013 - 31.10.2016 
Countries: Madagascar
Contact: Dr. Claude Garcia, ETH Zurich (claude.garcia[at]usys.ethz.ch)

Biofertilizer technology
Full Title: Application of organic bio-fertilizer technology to improve the sustainability of date palm production and cultivation
Countries: Tunisia, Morocco, Northern / Middle East
Contact: Dr. Paul Mäder,  FiBL (paul.maeder[at]fibl.org )

COCOBOARDS
Full Title: Environmentally sound technology for the manufacturing of affordable building materials based on coconut husk and natural bonding agents
Duration: 01.01.2014 - 31.12.2016
Countries: Philippines
Contact: Dr. Frédéric Pichelin, Bern University of Applied Sciences (frederic.pichelin[at]bfh.ch)

DECADE
Full Title: Data on climate and Extreme weather for the Central AnDEs (DECADE)
Duration: 01.02.2014 - 31.01.2017
Countries: Bolivia, Peru
Contact: Prof. Dr. Stefan Brönnimann, University of Berne (stefan.broennimann[at]giub.unibe.ch )

Fertilizer production
Full Title: Insect-based feed and fertilizer production via waste transformation for small-holders in Ghana
Duration: 01.12.2013 - 30.11.2016
Countries: Ghana
Contact: Dr. Andreas Fliessbach, FiBL (andreas.fliessbach[at]fibl.org)

Natural rice diversity
Full Title: Improvement of broad-spectrum disease resistance in rice: how a comprehensive study of natural rice diversity can help to reduce crop losses in developing countries
Countries: East Asia and Africa
Contact: Prof. Dr. Beat Keller, University of Zürich (bkeller[at]botinst.uzh.ch )

Soil-Q
Full Title: Establishing a soil monitoring network to assess the environmental exposure to PAHs and PCBs in the province of Mayabeque, Cuba
Countries: Cuba
Contact: Dr. Thomas D. Bucheli, Agroscope (thomas.bucheli[at]agroscope.admin.ch)

 

Other projects of individual research institutions

Agroscope
Topics (focused on Switzerland!)

Bern University of Applied Sciences - School of Agricultural, Forest and Food Sciences
Research & Consulting Services > International Agriculture

Centre for Development and Environment (CDE)
Research

ETH - World Food System Center
Research > Overview

FiBL: Research Institute of Organic Agriculture
International Division > Working Themes

Indo-Swiss Collaboration in Biotechnology
Projects

Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC)
Projects (all topics)

Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute
Research

Syngenta Foundation for Sustainable Agriculture
Projects

 

General research project databases

ARAMIS
Information System for research and development projects in Switzerland financed or carried out by the Federal Government.

P3 research database of SNSF
Data on all projects approved by the Swiss National Science Foundation (SNSF) since 1975 as well as on grants awarded under other funding schemes.

 

Projects of Swiss development organisations

HEKS
Helvetas Swiss Intercooperation
Swissaid

Newsletter

The SFIAR Newsletter provides you every other month with the latest news on agricultural research for development.
To subscribe, please enter your e-mail: